A scoreless opening quarter against the Hawks meant we were never in it in this 12 goal loss at Docklands

Round 18, 2018

Carlton 0.0 0 1.2 8 5.7 37 7.10 52
Hawthorn 4.3 27 8.7 55 11.13 79 18.16 124
Venue: Etihad Stadium
Date: Sunday 22nd July, 2018 - 1.10 pm.
Result: Lost by 72 points.
Crowd: 30,405
Goalkickers: P. Cripps 2, C. Curnow, K. Simpson, M. Kennedy, C. Polson, M. Wright 1.
Reports: D. Howe (Haw) striking P. Cripps, D. Howe (Haw) tripping Z. Fisher.
Umpires: Eleni Glouftsis, Leigh Haussen, Robert O'Gorman Feild Umpires Ray Chamberlain and Andrew Stephens were replaced by Leigh Haussen and Robert O'Gorman
Injuries: Z. Fisher (broken leg), L. Jones (knee) - D. Thomas (lacerated knee) replaced in selected side by N. Graham.
Ladder: 18th

Game Review

Blues fall to Hawks
Hawthorn cruised to a 72-point win over Carlton at Etihad Stadium, 18.16 (124) to 7.10 (52). The pre-game withdrawal of star midfielder Jaeger O'Meara caused a few anxious ripples among the Hawk faithful, mindful that the Blues knocked over the Hawks late last season, but this one was effectively done by quarter-time, as they led by 27 points, having kept Carlton scoreless in the opening quarter of a game for the first time since Round 18, 1990. But while the Hawks escaped unscathed on the injury front, they may well lose midfielder Daniel Howe for at least a game after a clash with Carlton's Patrick Cripps in the opening minutes of the game that will surely be scrutinised by match review officer Michael Christian. Indeed, it was a spirited opening to the game and the bottom-placed Blues were up for a scrap and determined not to be bossed around, but once the Hawks tidied up their ball use and worked their way through the Blues' defensive structures, they were on their way to win 18.16 (124) to 7.10 (52). Carlton's cause wasn't helped by first-half game-ending injuries to Zac Fisher and Liam Jones, and the Blues showed great pluck in the third when they rammed on four straight goals to get the margin briefly under six goals, a burst which included a freakish first AFL goal to Cameron Polson after a leg break that Shane Warne would have been proud of.

However the Hawks had done enough by then and they meandered to a win that did the job, but contained few style points. Their best was Brownlow Medal favourite Tom Mitchell who finished with 46 touches and two goals in the midfield. Also prolific was fourth-game midfielder James Worpel, with 32 possessions and who carried on with some terrific VFL form coming into this game. Luke Breust led the Hawks with five goals and Paul Puopolo kicked four, while Jack Gunston and Ryan Schoenmakers booted two each, but what was most pleasing for the Hawks as they enter their most crucial stretch of the season was that the backline kept the Blues largely at bay in the absence of injured star James Sicily. Ben Stratton, Blake Hardwick and James Frawley were all in good touch. For the Blues, the usual suspects – Marc Murphy (35) and Cripps (30 and two goals) – were tireless as always, while Matthew Kennedy (29) was also busy. Defender Jacob Weitering played one of his best games for the season, and in addition to 23 possessions had three contested marks. But it was a dirty day for the Blues. Zac Fisher limped from the ground midway through the first term with a knock to the leg. Liam Jones suffered a corked thigh in a second term marking contest and was also off for the second half. Jarrod Pickett underwent a concussion test after a clash in the third term, but returned to the game in the final term. - AFL Media.

Best for the Blues were Murphy, Cripps, Weitering, Kennedy.


B: 37 Matt Shaw 23 Jacob Weitering 22 Caleb Marchbank
HB:1 Jack Silvagni 14 Liam Jones 6 Kade Simpson
C:35 Ed Curnow 9 Patrick Cripps (VC) 3 Marc Murphy (c)
HF: 29 Cameron Polson 30 Charlie Curnow 33 Jarrod Pickett
F: 41 Levi Casboult 10 Harry McKay 5 Sam Petrevski-Seton
Ruck: 27 Matthew Lobbe 7 Matthew Kennedy 25 Zach Fisher
Interchange:2 Paddy Dow 4 Lochie O'Brien 32 Nick Graham
46 Matthew Wright
Coach: Brendon Bolton
Emg: 17 Sam Rowe, 18 Aaron Mullett , 21 Jarrod Garlett, 42 Kym LeBois

-* Dale Thomas was replaced in the selected side by Nick Graham and Aaron Mullett replaced Nick Graham as an emergency


Debut (Carlton): Matthew Lobbe
First Goal: Cameron Polson
Last Game: Matt Shaw


10 - Tom Mitchell (HAW)
7 - Luke Breust (HAW)
7 - Paul Puopolo (HAW)
4 - James Worpel (HAW)
1 - Ricky Henderson (HAW)
1 - Blake Hardwick (HAW)

Brownlow Votes

3 - T. Mitchell (HAW)
2 - L. Breust (HAW)
1 - P. Puopolo (HAW)

Best & Fairest Votes

Ed Curnow 7, Patrick Cripps 6, Jacob Weitering 5, Matt Kennedy 4, Matthew Lobbe 4, Marc Murphy 4, Cameron Polson 4, Matthew Wright 3, Lochie O'Brien 2, Nick Graham 1, Harry McKay 1, Jack Silvagni 1.

Round 17 | Round 19
Contributors to this page: WillowBlue , Bombasheldon and molsey .
Page last modified on Monday 11 of November, 2019 09:43:13 AEDT by WillowBlue.

Google Search

Random Image

1980 Sheedy prediction - Justin Madden 26/06/80.
1972 Rd 8 - Blues in control against St Kilda.

Online Users

227 online users