Carlton defeated Melbourne by 7 points - Telstra Dome.

Round 18, 2006

Carlton4.1257.5 479.76112.880
Melbourne1.5114.8327.10 5210.1373
Venue: Telstra Dome
Date: Sat 5 August, 2006, 2:10pm Result: Won by 7 points
Umpires: Quigley, Nicholls, WennCrowd: 24,113
Goalkickers: Fevola 4, Fisher 3, Waite 2, Houlihan, Lappin, Simpson
Reports: NilInjuries: Nil

Game Review

Carlton completed a clean sweep for the season against Melbourne, to repeat its upset Round 1 victory. It was always in control of the match and played with a great deal of intensity, forcing the Demons into making mistakes under the pressure it applied. The Blues led by as much as 22 points early in the third quarter but the Demons kept pressing to get as close as 2 points by the final quarter. In previous games the Blues had folded under this type of pressure but this time they responded to every Demon challenge, to run out 7 point winners.

Carlton's key forwards Brendan Fevola (4 goals), Brad Fisher (3) and Jarrad Waite (2) were all key contributors. Heath Scotland was again Carlton's highest possession getter with 28. Andrew Walker kept the dangerous Robertson goalless, while providing plenty of rebound with 22 possessions. Bret Thornton kept Neitz extremely quiet. Matthew Lappin scored his 200th goal for Carlton in this match, (it was his 226th career league goal as he scored 26 goals for St Kilda).

The win lifted the Blues off the bottom of the ladder, while denying the Demons a place in the top 2. This was a reversal of recent encounters between the two sides, when the Demons had frequently upset the Blues in matches vital to them.


B: 1 Andrew Walker 32 Bret Thornton 44 Andrew Carrazzo
HB: 20 Cory McGrath 8 Lance Whitnall (vc) 24 Nick Stevens (vc)
C: 6 Kade Simpson 40 Adam Bentick 33 Ryan Houlihan
HF: 12 Matthew Lappin (vc) 30 Jarrad Waite 14 Brad Fisher
F: 43 Anthony Koutoufides (c) 25 Brendan Fevola 17 Setanta Ó hAilpín
Ruck: 11 Barnaby French 29 Heath Scotland 34 Simon Wiggins
19 Eddie Betts, 13 Luke Blackwell, 2 Jordan Russell, 27 Chris Bryan
Coach: Denis Pagan
Emg: Jordan Bannister Adrian Deluca David Teague
In: Simon Wiggins
Out: Jordan Bannister (omitted)


Maiden Wins: Although this says a lot about our lack of success in the era, Setanta Ó hAilpín, Jordan Russell and Luke Blackwell, took part in their first senior victory.
200 Goals (Carlton): Matthew Lappin

Brownlow Votes

3: Heath Scotland (CARL)
2: Nick Stevens (CARL)
1: Andrew Walker (CARL)

Round 17 | Round 19
Contributors to this page: Bombasheldon , molsey , BlueWorld , WillowBlue , kruddler , camelboy and Jarusa .
Page last modified on Sunday 18 of March, 2012 20:42:47 AEDT by Bombasheldon.

Google Search

Random Image

1981 GF - Ashman & Doull share the joy of victory..jpg
1996 Rd 9 - Craig Bradley.

Online Users

126 online users