Carlton lost to the Bulldogs by 30 points - Telstra Dome.

Round 15, 2006

Carlton 3.2 20 7.5 47 10.10 70 11.14 80
Western Bulldogs 4.3 27 7.6 48 10.10 70 16.14 110
Venue: Telstra Dome
Date: Sun 16 July, 2006 Result: Loss by 30 points
Umpires: Sully, Wenn, Avon Crowd: 26,418
Goalkickers: Betts 2, Bentick, Blackwell, Fevola, French, Simpson, Kennedy, Whitnall, Scotland, O'hAilpin
Reports: Nil Injuries: Nil

Game Review

The Blues matched it with the Bulldogs for 3 quarters and went to the final break dead level. But once again they ran out of legs in the final quarter, making some costly skill errors to be outscored 6 goals to 1 and ended up going down by 5 goals.

Nick Stevens, Heath Scotland, Ryan Houlihan, Andrew Carrazzo, Kade Simpson and Adam Bentick were good players in the midfield and bringing the ball out of defence, giving the Blues the edge in that area for much of the first three quarters. Bentick did a good job limiting the influence of West (the leading possession getter in the AFL) while Houlihan kept Eagleton quiet. The Bulldogs had the better of the clearances in the final quarter however.

Setanta O'hAilpin was a late inclusion off the emergency list after Jordan Russell was out through illness. The big Irishman spent a lot of his game time manning up on Bulldogs legend and 300 gamer Chris Grant. In just his fifth game O'hAilpin carried himself quite well with 12 possessions.

Carlton struggled to make the most of their opportunities in front of goal, hitting the post 5 times, with spearhead Brendan Fevola having a quiet day with 1.2 and Adrian Deluca kicking 0.3.


B: 44 Andrew Carrazzo 8 Lance Whitnall (a/c) 29 Heath Scotland
HB: 24 Nick Stevens (vc) 32 Bret Thornton 20 Cory McGrath
C: 12 Matthew Lappin (vc) 40 Adam Bentick 6 Kade Simpson
HF: 33 Ryan Houlihan 26 Adrian Deluca 34 Simon Wiggins
F: 5 Josh Kennedy 25 Brendan Fevola 19 Eddie Betts
Ruck: 11 Barnaby French 1 Andrew Walker 13 Luke Blackwell
Interchange: 14 Brad Fisher 31 Jordan Bannister 36 Trent Sporn
17 Setanta Ó hAilpín
Coach: Denis Pagan
Emg: Ian Prendergast Setanta Ó hAilpín* Chris Bryan
In: Brad Fisher, Matthew Lappin
Out: Dylan McLaren (omitted), Jordan Russell (illness)*

Late Changes

Ó hAilpín for Russell


Losing streaks: This was our 8th loss in a row; a record unmatched for a a decade.... thankfully

Brownlow Votes

3: Brad Johnson (WB)
2: Farren Ray (WB)
1: Heath Scotland (CARL)

Round 14 | Round 16
Contributors to this page: molsey , BlueWorld , WillowBlue , kruddler and camelboy .
Page last modified on Sunday 07 of August, 2016 18:03:36 AEST by molsey.

Google Search

Random Image

2015 B&F - Tuohy, Murphy, John Nicholls, Cripps & McKay.jpg
1996 Rd 10 - The Kouta hooked.

Online Users

46 online users