Frank Johnson Medal

The Frank Johnson Medal is awarded to the best player in the VFL’s Representative Team. Frank Johnson played eight seasons for Port Melbourne, from 1950-57 for a total of 165 games, including eight Grand Finals for one Premiership (1953). Johnson won five best-and-fairest awards at Port Melbourne, a club record. At age 20, Johnson became the youngest player to ever win the J.J. Liston Trophy. Johnson was an All Australian in 1953 and 1956 in the Australian National Football Council Carnival and represented the VFA in every year of his career at Port Melbourne. Johnson captain/coached Port Melbourne in 1956-57 before transferring to South Melbourne in the VFL at 27 years of age and won South Melbourne’s best-and-fairest award in his first season at the club. Johnson represented the VFL in State Games in the 1960 Australian National Football Council Carnival and played 64 VFL games, including a Night Premiership. In 2007, Frank Johnson became the first VFA/VFL inductee into the AFL’s Hall of Fame.

1990 Kevin Dyson Oakleigh
2016 Michael Gibbons Williamstown

Northern Bullants | Northern Blues | VFL Awards & Medals | Reserves Menu page | Blueseum Reserves Image Gallery

Contributors to this page: Bombasheldon .
Page last modified on Saturday 06 of July, 2019 18:21:31 AEST by Bombasheldon.

Online Users

90 online users