Dr W.C. McClelland Trophy

The VFL decided to make available a trophy to be awarded annually to the club with the highest points aggregate alloted for matches won by first, second and third eighteen teams in the first round of games. The points allocated were as follows: First Eighteen Win - 5 points, Second Eighteen Win - 2 points, Third Eighteen Win - 1 point, Drawn Game - points halved.

The trophy itself instituted in 1951 was to be retained in the VFL offices, with a replica presented to the winning club each year.

This format was retained until 1990 when the move to national competition specifically for individual senior teams meant that the trophy would be awarded to the minor premiers of the AFL each season.

The trophy was instituted to recognise the service of Dr McClelland as a player, club delegate for Melbourne and VFL President from 1926-1955.

Carlton won 5 McClelland trophies, in 1969, 1979, 1985, 1987 and for the last time in 1995:

1969 McClelland Trophy | 1979 McClelland Trophy | 1985 McClelland Trophy | 1987 McClelland Trophy | 1995 McClelland Trophy

Profile of Dr W.C. McClelland

Contributors to this page: molsey , steve and admin .
Page last modified on Saturday 20 of January, 2007 18:23:10 AEDT by molsey.

Google Search

Random Image

1997 Rd 15 - Stephen Kernahan.
1995 Rd 2 - Scott Camporeale: Rising Star Winner.

Online Users

232 online users