Carlton defeated Hawthorn by 8 points - Princes Park.

Round 9, 1983

Venue: Princes ParkDate: Saturday May 21, 1983
Result: Win by 8 pointsUmpires: N.Nash & I.Robinson Crowd: 30,750 Receipts: $70,260
Goalkickers: J.Madden 4, R.Ditchburn 3, P.Bosustow 2, S.Kourkoumelis 2, W.Johnston 1, R.Ashman 1, D.Glascott, M.Maclure 1
Best: D.Glascott, V.Perovic, R.Ashman, M.Fitzpatrick, W.Johnston, R.Ditchburn.
Reports: Nil Injuries: R.Austin (leg) & K.Sheldon (ankle)

Game Review

Carlton decided to fast track their obligatory 3rd quarter onslaught of the Hawks to the 2nd quarter. The second half proved to be a poor quality affair. Carlton continued their recent knack of beating the Hawks in important games, the Hawks would eventually become the premiers this year.

It was Carlton rover Rod Ashman who grabbed the three votes against Hawthorn. In typical Ashman fashion, the Blues rover swooped on the ball to gain 24 kicks, took 10 marks and kicked an important goal. - Inside Football Player of the Year.

In the Carlton-Hawthorn clash, Justin Madden had a kick for goal from a rather acute angle, so moved around the boundary line to improve his angle. Madden went back some considerable distance and, I suggest, one of two things should have been done by the umpire. Either he should have brought Madden back so that he was on the fence and the angle was over the mark and through the centre of goals, or he should have called play on, because I'II wager the big fellow had moved well and truly out of his 10 metre zone. - Kevin Sheedy Inside Football.

Biggest crowd of the round was at Princes Park for the clash between Carlton and Hawthorn. Hawthorn jumped Carlton with 6.2.38 to 1.5.11 first quarter, but the Blues slammed on nine goals in a great second quarter and went on to win by eight points. Glascott, Perovic and Ashman were among Carlton's best. - Football Record.


B: 27 Des English 20 Geoff Southby (vc) 15 Val Perovic
HB: 9 Ken Hunter 11 Bruce Doull 21 Rod Austin
C: 13 Phil Maylin 28 Spiro Kourkoumelis 32 David Glascott
HF: 23 Paul Meldrum 10 Mark Buckley 7 Wayne Johnston
F: 8 Ross Ditchburn 4 Peter Bosustow 34 Alex Marcou
Ruck: 3 Mike Fitzpatrick (c) 5 Ken Sheldon 14 Rod Ashman
Interchange: 44 Justin Madden 36 Mark Maclure
Coach: David Parkin


Round 8 | Round 10

Online Users

46 online users