John Coleman Medallist

This award is presented to the leading goalkicker at the end of the home and away season and was first awarded in 1981. In July 2004 at a special AFL Function, retrospective Coleman Medals were awarded to the leading goalkickers from 1955 to 1980 (1955 being the year after John Coleman retired from Essendon due to injury).

Since that time, Carlton has had 4 John Coleman Medallists (6 Medals overall):

Year Player Goals Kicked
1961 Tom Carroll 54
2006 Brendan Fevola 84
2009 Brendan Fevola 86*
2021 Harry McKay 58
2022 Charlie Curnow 64
2023 Charlie Curnow 78*

NB * denotes goals kicked to the completion of the H&A Season. As readers should be aware, Coleman Medals are awarded on Home & Away goals and as such any goals scored in finals are excluded from the above (but can be found in the Stat Shot pages of all players on an annual basis). (For example Charlie Curnow kicked 78 to the end of Round 24, and then 3 in subsequent finals for 81 for the year).

Carlton's first Coleman went to 'Turkey' Tom Carroll. Interestingly, Carroll would be our top goal-kicker for each of 1961, 1962 and 1963, but Carroll's tally of goals was higher in 1962 than in his award winning year.

Then, some 45 years later, Brendan Fevola would repeat the feat with a massive 84 goals, a huge improvement on his 49 goals in 2005 and efforts in the 60's in both 2004 and 2003. 2006 was indeed the breakthrough year for Fevola, and his goal-kicking spree continued with his personal best of 1999 in 2008 (second in the Coleman to Lance Franklin of Hawthorn), and then managing his second Coleman in 2009 with 86 majors.

At the same function in 1981, Leading Goalkicker Awards were granted to players that were the leading goalkicker at the end of the home and away season from 1897 to 1954. Click HERE to review the Blues successful on this basis.

Carlton's Greatest Goalkickers | Century Goalkickers | League Leading Goalkicker
Contributors to this page: molsey , BlueWorld and true_blue24 .
Page last modified on Tuesday 02 of January, 2024 12:27:42 AEDT by molsey.

Online Users

64 online users