Carlton lost to the Kangaroos by 5 points - MCG. Controversial out of bounds gives Roos late goal.

Round 3, 2004

Carlton 4.4 28 8.6 54 13.7 85 16.10 106
Kangaroos 7.0 42 12.3 75 14.5 89 17.9 111
Venue: MCG
Date: Sat 10 April, 2004
Result: Loss by 5 points Umpires: Rowe, Meredith, Avon Crowd: 36,273
Goalkickers: Fevola 4, Fisher, Lappin, Whitnall 2, Deluca, Houlihan, Johnson, Kenna, Stevens, Scotland 1
Reports: Nil Injuries: Nil

Game Review

The Blues seemed headed for a narrow victory against the Kangaroos. But a controversial out-of-bounds on the full penalty against Ryan Houlihan, with just eight seconds to go, would enable Roo Daniel Wells to goal from the resultant free kick from outside 50 metres and result in a 5 point win to his team. The ball was ruled as having struck Houlihan's heel on the full but replays were inconclusive.

The Kangaroos had earlier raced away to a 5 goal lead, largely on the basis of incredibly accurate kicking, with 11 straight goals before registering their first behind, though there was little difference in scoring shots. The persistent Blues gradually reduced that margin, largely due to the good play of Matthew Lappin (28 possessions, 2 goals), Heath Scotland (26, 1), Houlihan (26, 1) and Brett Johnson (21, 1), while Brendan Fevola provided a constant target up forward, kicking 4 goals.

This match marked the debut of outstanding midfielder Nick Stevens for Carlton (with 22 possessions and a goal), after returning to his home town from Port Adelaide.

Karl Norman was omitted after turning up to a training session earlier that week in an unfit state, apparently a result of drug taking.


B: 34 Simon Wiggins 32 Bret Thornton 36 Trent Sporn
HB: 33 Ryan Houlihan 8 Lance Whitnall (vc) 15 David Teague
C: 9 David Clarke jnr 16 Scott Camporeale (a/c) 12 Matthew Lappin
HF: 14 Brad Fisher 3 Digby Morrell 29 Heath Scotland
F: 26 Adrian Deluca 25 Brendan Fevola 17 Stephen Kenna
Ruck: 11 Barnaby French 31 Jordan Bannister 24 Nick Stevens
2 Daniel Harford, 10 Brett Johnson, 27 Darren Hulme, 28 Ian Prendergast
Coach: Denis Pagan
Emg: Kade Simpson Cory McGrath Jonathon McCormick
In: Nick Stevens
Out: Karl Norman


Debut (Carlton): Nick Stevens

Brownlow Votes

3: Heath Scotland (CARL)
2: Adam Simpson (KAN)
1: Shannon Grant (KAN)

Best & Fairest Votes

Matthew Lappin (40), Heath Scotland (35), Adrian Deluca (34), Ryan Houlihan, Bret Thornton (31), David Teague (30), Brendan Fevola (25), Lance Whitnall(21), Nick Stevens (21), Brett Johnson, Trent Sporn (11), Brad Fisher (8), Jordan Bannister (5), Ian Prendergast (3)

Round 2 | Round 4
Contributors to this page: BlueWorld , molsey , WillowBlue , kruddler and admin .
Page last modified on Saturday 01 of December, 2007 15:15:07 AEDT by BlueWorld.

Google Search

Random Image

1989 - Mark Naley staying (04/10/89).
1979 Grand Final - Jezza and Ray Shaw clash.

Online Users

195 online users