Carlton lost to Sydney by 92 points - SCG. French, McGrath and Sporn played their last games.

Round 22, 2006

Carlton2.3152.6 182.7196.844
Sydney5.1319.35715.9 9921.10136
Venue: SCG
Date: Sun 3 September, 2006, 1:10pm Result: Loss by 92 points
Umpires: Donlon, Avon, McInerneyCrowd: 33,943
Goalkickers: Blackwell, Fevola, Fisher, French, Waite, Whitnall
Reports: NilInjuries: Nil

Game Review

The Blues were unfortunate to face an in-form Sydney Swans outfit. The Blues had a shocking day and ended up losing by 92 points. This margin would break the previous record of 78 points set in 2002 for the greatest win by the Swans against the Blues. At the 3/4 time huddle, Barnaby French would announce his retirement to the boys. Fittingly, he kicked the last goal of the match.

Of interest for the future was the debut of Ryan Jackson and the performances of Paul Bower on Swan O'Loughlin in only his second game and the rousing performance of Setanta Ó hAilpín who would not only take on Barry Hall but beat him in a number of one-on-ones in the second half.

Three Carlton players, Teague, McGrath and Sporn would all play their 50th game for Carlton in this game - the irony is that it would be their last in the famous navy Blue as well!!!


B: 17 Setanta Ó hAilpín 32 Bret Thornton 33 Ryan Houlihan
HB: 18 Paul Bower 15 David Teague 29 Heath Scotland
C: 14 Brad Fisher 36 Trent Sporn 44 Andrew Carrazzo
HF: 6 Kade Simpson 12 Matthew Lappin (vc) 19 Eddie Betts
F: 8 Lance Whitnall (vc) 25 Brendan Fevola 30 Jarrad Waite
Ruck: 11 Barnaby French 43 Anthony Koutoufides (c) 1 Andrew Walker
Interchange:13 Luke Blackwell 26 Adrian Deluca 38 Ryan Jackson
20 Cory McGrath
Coach: Denis Pagan
Emg: Jake Edwards Dylan Mclaren Jesse Smith
In: Ryan Jackson, David Teague
Out: Jordan Bannister (suspended), Jesse Smith (omitted)


Debut: Ryan Jackson
50 Games (and Last): Trent Sporn; Cory McGrath (Carlton), David Teague (Carlton)
Final Game: Barnaby French, Adrian Deluca (retirement), Cory McGrath and Trent Sporn (delisted). This would also be the final game for David Teague, although he would remain on the list for Season 2007 and continue to excel for the Northern Bullants.
Score Records: This is the Swans' greatest winning margin over Carlton

Brownlow Votes

3: Adam Goodes (SYD)
2: Luke Ablett (SYD)
1: Amon Buchanan (SYD)

Round 21 | 2007
Contributors to this page: Bombasheldon , molsey , camelboy , BlueWorld , WillowBlue , kruddler and true_blue24 .
Page last modified on Saturday 10 of March, 2012 13:27:31 AEDT by Bombasheldon.

Online Users

66 online users