Carlton lost to the Kangaroos by 82 points at the Telstra Dome, with Shaun Hampson on debut.

Round 21, 2007

Carlton2.2144.9 338.115911.1379
Kangaroos3.8269.116517.14 11624.17161
Venue: Telstra Dome
Date: Sat 25 August 2007, 2:10pm Result: Loss by 82pts
Umpires: M Avon, R Chamberlain, G Fila Crowd: 29,334
Goalkickers: J Waite 3; L Whitnall, R Jackson 2; B Gibbs, J Kennedy, C Ackland, S O'hAilpin 1
Reports: - Injuries: Houlihan (flu- replaced in selected side by Grigg)
Lappin (back- replaced in selected side by Kennedy), Fisher (knee)

Game Review

In Glenn Archer's record-breaking 307th game, the Kangaroos came out firing, but inaccuracy cost them as they took a 3.8 (26) to 2.2 (14) lead at quarter time. In the absence of spearhead Brendan Fevola, the Blues struggled in the forward line and only had four majors on the board at half time. The Roos kept increasing their lead, and won every quarter of the match in Brett Ratten's first match as official coach of Carlton. The final score was 24.17 (161) for North Melbourne (their highest for the season) to 11.13 (79) for the Blues. This was the first time under Brett Ratten that Carlton had been beaten by more than 30 points.

Adam Bentick picked up a career-high 36 disposals, Andrew Walker had 30, and Andrew Carrazzo continued his fine form with 29 possessions and 8 tackles, but debutant Shaun Hampson was denied a dream debut after sustaining a hand injury early in the match.

With the pre-game replacements of Houlihan and Lappin by Grigg and Kennedy, this was the 10th youngest Carlton team on record, later to become the 11th, with an average age of 22 years and 201 days. It was Carlton's least experienced side ever with an average of 57.7 games per player. Only Lance Whitnall (215 games), Jason Saddington (160 games) and Heath Scotland (137 games) had played over 100 League matches.


B:29 Heath Scotland 9 Jason Saddington 40 Michael Jamison
HB: 1 Andrew Walker 30 Jarrad Waite 18 Paul Bower
C: 2 Jordan Russell 3 Marc Murphy 6 Kade Simpson
HF:31 Jordan Bannister 8 Lance Whitnall (c) 14 Brad Fisher
F: 19 Eddie Betts 17 Setanta Ó hAilpín 5 Josh Kennedy
Ruck: 11 Cain Ackland 38 Ryan Jackson 4 Bryce Gibbs
Interchange:44 Andrew Carrazzo 16 Shaun Grigg 22 Shaun Hampson
7 Adam Bentick
Coach: Brett Ratten
Emg: 21 Mark Austin, 23 Adam Hartlett, 26 Clinton Benjamin
In: Shaun Grigg*, Shaun Hampson, Josh Kennedy*, Jordan Russell
Out: Matthew Lappin (back)*, Brendan Fevola (adductor), Ryan Houlihan (flu)*, Luke Blackwell (omit)
-* Late change


Debut: Shaun Hampson
Interesting fact: This was the 11th youngest Carlton team on record with an average age of 22 years and 201 days old (it was 10th at the time but surpassed a week later!)

Brownlow Votes

3. Brent Harvey, Kangaroos
2. Drew Petrie, Kangaroos
1. Adam Bentick, Carlton

Best and Fairest Votes

Jarrad Waite 21, Jordan Bannister 20, Adam Bentick 19, Paul Bower 8, Heath Scotland 3, Andrew Walker, Josh Kennedy 2

Round 20 | Round 22
Contributors to this page: PatsFitztrick , molsey , WillowBlue , BlueWorld , true_blue24 and camelboy .
Page last modified on Wednesday 09 of June, 2010 21:53:33 AEST by PatsFitztrick.

Google Search

Random Image

1896 W. Hannah
Grigg kicks his first goal

Online Users

160 online users