Carlton lost to Collingwood by 35 points at Waverley.

Round 2, 1990

Venue: WaverleyDate: Saturday April 7, 1990
Result: Loss by 35 pointsUmpires: Brian Sheehan, G.ForsterCrowd: 44,906
Goalkickers: S.Minton-Connell 7, M.Majerczak 3, S.Kernahan 1, S.Verbeek 1, T.Alvin 1.
Best: C.Bradley, A.Gleeson, S.Minton-Connell, W.Blackwell, S.Da Rui, M.Majerczak, D.Kernahan.
Reports: P.Meldrum (allegedly charging P.Tuddenham) - Not Guilty ; Steve Da Rui (Striking Darren Millane) - 2 Matches.
Injuries: F.Brown (knee); D.Rhys-Jones (knee - replaced in selected side)

Game Review

Another fast start saw Carlton head the Magpies by 20 points at the first change, but Collingwood gradually worked their way back into the game, and a landslide nine-goal final quarter ensured the Pies raced away to a comfortable 35-point win.

Collingwood's big finish was led by Peter Daicos, who was shifted from defence into attack at half-time, and finished with seven goals - five in the last quarter. Simon Minton-Connell was the Blues' only dominant forward, and he matched Daicos' efforts to post 7.3 in a lively display. Collingwood captain Tony Shaw had a field day, collecting 42 possessions. Craig Bradley was best for the Blues, with 17 kicks and 13 handballs.

In an amusing sidelight, most of Carlton's committee, including President John Elliott and former coach "Percy" Jones, became trapped in a VFL Park lift just prior to the start of the match. They were freed in time to see the last quarter, prompting Jones to comment that "it was more fun in the lift."

The Blues sank to twelfth place on the 14-team ladder after this second defeat, ahead of only Geelong and Richmond.


B: 23 Paul Meldrum 28 David Kernahan 37 Adrian Bassett
HB: 5 Steve Da Rui 1 Stephen Silvagni 31 Tom Alvin
C: 13 Mil Hanna 8 Wayne Blackwell 20 Fraser Brown
HF: 25 Ian Herman 4 Stephen Kernahan (c) 15 Simon Verbeek
F: 6 Jon Dorotich 29 Simon Minton-Connell 33 Mark Majerczak
Ruck: 44 Justin Madden 21 Craig Bradley (vc) 12 Adrian Gleeson
Interchange: 45 Warren McKenzie 43 Chris Bond
Emgs: 3 Richard Dennis 36 Tim Rieniets 26 David Rhys-Jones
Coach: Alex Jesaulenko

  • Warren McKenzie replaced David Rhys-Jones in selected side


Debut: Chris Bond

Brownlow Votes

3: Peter Daicos (Collingwood)
2: Gavin Brown (Collingwood)
1: Simon Minton-Connell

Round 1 | Round 3
Contributors to this page: Bombasheldon , PatsFitztrick , molsey , kkk , WillowBlue , Andy , sherb , BlueWorld , steve , Dukes and admin .
Page last modified on Saturday 22 of June, 2013 12:07:07 AEST by Bombasheldon.

Online Users

40 online users