A summary of all players to have been appointed as Captain of the Blues


VFL / AFL era Captains of Carlton

No. of YearsCareer Summary
Jimmy Aitken 1897-18982Click here
Ernie Walton 1898-1899, 19013Click here
Henry McShane 18991Click here
Will Stuckey (William) 1899-19013Click here
Joe Sullivan 19021Click here
Joe McShane 1902-19043Click here
Jim Flynn 1905-19073Click here
Fred Elliott 1908-19114Click here
Jack Wells 1912-19132Click here
Billy Dick (William) 1914-19174Click here
Alf Baud 19151Click here
Rod McGregor 19181Click here
Charlie Fisher 1919-19202Click here
Paddy O'Brien 1920, 19242Click here
Charlie Canet 19211Click here
Gordon Green 19211Click here
Ernie Jamieson 19221Click here
Horrie Clover 1922-1924, 19274Click here
Maurie Beasy 19251Click here
Ray Brew 1925-1926, 1928-19316Click here
Colin Martyn 1931-19321Click here
Frank Gill 19331Click here
Maurie Johnson 19341Click here
Charlie Davey 19351Click here
Jim Francis 1936, 1941-19445Click here
Ansell Clarke 19371Click here
Brighton Diggins 1938-19403Click here
Bob Atkinson 19441Click here
Bob Chitty 1945-19462Click here
Ern Henfry 1947-19526Click here
Ken Hands 1952-19576Click here
Bruce Comben 1958-19603Click here
Graham Donaldson 1961-19622Click here
John Nicholls 1963, 1968-19748Click here
Serge Silvagni 19641Click here
Ron Barassi 1965-19684Click here
Robert Walls 1974, 1977-19783Click here
Peter Jones 19741Click here
Alex Jesaulenko 1975-1976, 1978-19794Click here
Mike Fitzpatrick 1980-19834Click here
Wayne Johnston 1984-19852Click here
Mark Maclure 19861Click here
Stephen Kernahan 1987-199711Click here
Craig Bradley 1998-20014Click here
Brett Ratten 2002-20032Click here
Andrew McKay 20031Click here
Anthony Koutoufides 2004-20063Click here
Lance Whitnall 20071Click here
Chris Judd 2008 - 20125Click here
Marc Murphy 2013 - 20186Click here
Patrick Cripps 2019 -? TBDClick here
Sam Docherty 2019 - 2021 TBDClick here


Pre VFL Captains | Premierships | VFL / AFL Captain Success Rate | Captain Coaches | Carlton Captains Breakdown | Vice Captains | Leadership Group | AFLW Captains
Contributors to this page: Bombasheldon , molsey , Jarusa , WillowBlue , blueycarlton , true_blue24 , pblue , admin and Juzz .
Page last modified on Monday 07 of February, 2022 08:50:29 AEDT by Bombasheldon.

Online Users

84 online users