Blueseum - Online Carlton Football Club Museum
Carlton lost to the Bulldogs by 25 points - Optus Oval. Hulme's last game.

Round 9, 2004

Carlton 5.1 31 10.4 64 12.4 76 12.7 79
Bulldogs 7.3 45 10.5 65 16.5 101 16.8 104
Venue: Optus Oval
Date: Sun 23 May 2004 Result: Loss by 25 points
Umpires: Davis, Coates, Nicholls Crowd: 26,041
Goalkickers: Fevola 3, Fisher, Scotland, Whitnall 2, Davies, Deluca, French
Reports: Nil Injuries: French (back), Hulme (groin)

Game Review

The Bulldogs kicked the first 3 goals of the match before Carlton responded with 3 of its own. The Bulldogs then kicked another 4 to Carlton's 2 to take a 14 point lead at quarter time. Carlton kicked the first 4 goals of the second term before the Dogs fought back to be just one point ahead at half time, during this time, Barnaby French injured a disc in his back and took no further part in the match and the Bulldogs ruck took control of the match. The Blues kicked the first 2 goals of the third quarter but then the Dogs kicked 6 unanswered goals to take a 25 point break at 3/4 time. Poor disposal proved clostly for the Blues. Both sides managed just 3 behinds each in the final quarter.

Matthew Lappin continued his great form and had 26 disposals – the most of any player for the match. Nick Stevens had 24. David Teague with 21 and Glen Bowyer with 18 played well in defence.


B: 18 Glen Bowyer 32 Bret Thornton 33 Ryan Houlihan
HB: 15 David Teague 37 Karl Norman 34 Simon Wiggins
C: 1 Andrew Walker 10 Brett Johnson 29 Heath Scotland
HF: 14 Brad Fisher 26 Adrian Deluca 24 Nick Stevens
F: 27 Darren Hulme 25 Brendan Fevola 8 Lance Whitnall (vc)
Ruck: 28 Ian Prendergast 16 Scott Camporeale (a/c) 12 Matthew Lappin
31 Jordan Bannister, 13 Justin Davies, 11 Barnaby French, 9 David Clarke
Coach: Denis Pagan
Emg: David Clarke* Daniel Harford Digby Morrell
In: Barnaby French, David Clarke* (late)
Out: Stephen Kenna, Digby Morrell

-*David Clarke replaced Anthony Koutoufides (hamstring)


Last Game: Darren Hulme

Brownlow Votes

3: Robert Murphy (WB)
2: David Teague (CARL)
1: Jordan McMahon (WB)

Best & Fairest Votes

David Teague (41), Matthew Lappin (37), Glen Bowyer (33), Karl Norman (27), Scott Camporeale (25), Bret Thornton (20), Nick Stevens, Simon Wiggins (5)

Round 8 | Round 10